My art: Eiswein

My art: Eiswein

This post is the first of my new art segments. “New art” is anything done from 2012 onwards.

Eiswein (Ice Wine)
Eiswein (Ice Wine)
“Eiswein” simply means “ice wine” in German. Ice wine is made from grapes that have been left on the vine to freeze and then harvested to make delicious wine.

I was inspired by a wine-themed art contest, although I didn’t enter. Back when I thought I was going to enter, though, I had a hard time coming up with a subject. I’m not crazy for white or red wine, have not yet tried pink… but I am a total fan of ice wine!

Once I decided on ice wine, Alphonse Mucha’s advertisements for Moët & Chandon (Crémant Impérial and White Star) immediately flashed in my head. I did want to draw snow, though, so I placed my lady outside, interacting with the frozen grapes.

Other images I used for reference were Mucha’s Winter ladies from 1896, 1897, and 1896 again.

It’s a little scary to put my original stuff here for all to see, so thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

