My art: Lyra and Pan

My art: Lyra and Pan

My new art for this week is fanart of Lyra and Pantalaimon from Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials. I’m not too crazy about it, but I wanted to sketch out the concept so that I might return to it later.

Lyra and Pan
Lyra and Pan

This image is one I’ve had in my head for a long, long time. It is based on Leonardo da Vinci’s Lady with an Ermine.

Here’s the awesome part: Lyra and Pan always made me think of this painting, ever since I first read it in fifth grade. And, in an interview I read, Philip Pullman said that he was inspired by this image to write the books. As if I couldn’t adore this author more!

In case you’re wondering, Pan appears here as a pine marten, which are super-cute cousins to ferrets and weasels (part of the mustelid family). I based Lyra on the actress who portrayed her in the (problematic) Golden Compass film, Dakota Blue Richards. I did this because Philip Pullman, in another interview, said he thought she was the best choice to portray Lyra.

As I said, it would be great to do a “for real” version of this, especially a painting in the style of Leonardo.

Leave a Reply

