My art: Serenity

My art: Serenity

images from a Japanese house
This is my attempt at a “mood-setting” exercise from Scott McCloud’s Making Comics. The exercise is about what he calls aspect-to-aspect transitions between panels. For me, “serenity” always conjures images of a traditional Japanese house.

From left to right, top to bottom, I drew: open doors to a courtyard, shoes, tea cups, table with sitting pillows, art scroll, inside view of a room. I used a bunch of reference photos from the internet, which I altered and added to. My favorite part is the vase in the bottom left corner.

One thought on “My art: Serenity

Leave a Reply

