My art: Magazine girl

My art: Magazine girl


This was for a class in high school. The high school art courses that I took just sucked all the fun out art – it’s a miracle I didn’t quit making art altogether. I credit the beauty of anime and manga with keeping me drawing!

Anyway, this was an exercise in reproducing an image using a grid. The method is easy and very helpful, especially for people who paint murals. There are three steps:
1.) Draw a grid on the image you want to copy.
2.) Draw another grid, using the same measurements, on your blank paper/canvas/whatever
3.) Draw a basic outline on your blank paper using the squares as guides

You can reproduce anything this way, and you can enlarge or shrink it too.

Leave a Reply

