My art: Sherlock Holmes part 1

My art: Sherlock Holmes part 1

Edit: Psst, hey! Come over here instead for the digital version!

I’m almost done reading the complete collection of stories starring Sherlock Holmes, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. This particular scene takes place at the very end of chapter eight from “The Sign of Four”, which was published as part of The Complete Sherlock Holmes:

He took up his violin from the corner, and as I stretched myself out he began to play some low, dreamy, melodious air – his own, no doubt, for he had a remarkable gift for improvisation. I have a vague remembrance of his gaunt limbs, his earnest face and the rise and fall of his bow. Then I seemed to be floated peacefully away upon a soft sea of sound until I found myself in dreamland, with the sweet face of Mary Morstan looking down upon me.

I based the room on Russell Stutler’s painstaking illustration, which is based on repeated readings of the entire Holmes collection, and some photos of the recreated apartment on the actual Baker Street in London.

I had so. much. trouble drawing Watson on the chaise lounge – in fact, I made it a chaise lounge instead of a regular sofa in order to show him better from the angle that I foolishly chose. It was really hard to fit him in there and actually look like he is part of the 3D planes of the room – and honestly, I’m not sure if I succeeded.

Anyway, I just thought it was a really nice little scene, and I had a lovely image in my head… not the one above, haha.

Come back next week I’ll post my funny version of it, with thought clouds!

Leave a Reply

