Artist profile: Kinuko Y. Craft – Twelve Dancing Princesses

Artist profile: Kinuko Y. Craft – Twelve Dancing Princesses

Every month, I profile an artist who inspires my own art,
in several segments.

 
As I mentioned last week, K.Y. Craft’s illustrations in The Twelve Dancing Princesses, written by Marianna Meyer, made my art tastes what they are today. When I was very young, my mom gave me this book and I just could not stop looking at it. Everything that I like in art – light, Nature, organic patterns, realism, pretty people, lustrous clothing, and the whole Italian Renaissance look – is in this book.

All images are © Kinuko. Y. Craft, All Rights Reserved.

Also, spoiler alert for Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell: Caitie makes the connection between the Twelve Dancing Princesses story and Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell. I was totally floored – I could not believe that my very favorite written book and my very favorite illustrated book would be connected in that way! (And that I hadn’t thought of it before!!)

Now, for some lovely, light-filled paintings:

Click to see larger


Soooo Renaissance!

Notice the pretty borders.

Princesses walking through the forest (click to see larger)

Princess Elise: a pleasing blend of Victorian, Renaissance, and Elizabethan elements.

 
Thanks for getting me this book, Mom! I probably wouldn’t be an artist without it.

Other parts in the Kinuko Y. Craft artist profile series
Introduction
Paintings
Colored pencil drawings

4 thoughts on “Artist profile: Kinuko Y. Craft – Twelve Dancing Princesses

Leave a Reply

