My art: Sherlock Holmes part 2

My art: Sherlock Holmes part 2

Actually, how about you just ignore last Sunday. Today I’m posting a digital version of part 1 along with part 2 – the serious one and the funny one.

You *know* Holmes is thinkin’ about murder stuff.

This particular scene takes place at the very end of chapter eight from “The Sign of Four”, which was published as part of The Complete Sherlock Holmes:

He took up his violin from the corner, and as I stretched myself out he began to play some low, dreamy, melodious air – his own, no doubt, for he had a remarkable gift for improvisation. I have a vague remembrance of his gaunt limbs, his earnest face and the rise and fall of his bow. Then I seemed to be floated peacefully away upon a soft sea of sound until I found myself in dreamland, with the sweet face of Mary Morstan looking down upon me.

I based the room on Russell Stutler’s painstaking illustration, which is based on repeated readings of the entire Holmes collection, and some photos of the recreated apartment on the actual Baker Street in London.

3 thoughts on “My art: Sherlock Holmes part 2

Leave a Reply

