My art: The Sun

My art: The Sun

thesun2011
Since Friday was the Winter Solstice, I decided to post this instead of a new work of art. It’s cropped from a Tarot card design I gave to my Special Someone in 2011.

I went through many sketches and ideas; the most important element to me was the sun child, who represents complete joy and optimism, and steals the show in the Rider-Waite version of the card.
thesunriderwaite
The child needed to look happy and excited; I tried drawing a realistic boy, but the wide chibi eyes fit better. I also really wanted the sun itself to look like a ball – like he’s playing with the sun.

You can’t see the rest of the design, but it’s an awkward half-circle – nothing that would fit on an actual card. I hope to redo it someday, while keeping the boy the same.

Leave a Reply

