Artist profile: Helena Nelson-Reed – Personifications

Artist profile: Helena Nelson-Reed – Personifications

Every month, I profile an artist who inspires my own art,
in several segments.

 
I decided to call these three paintings by Helena Nelson-Reed personifications instead of Goddess Paintings because none of their titles are actually deity names. The artworks seem much more representative of ideas.
hnr_creatrix
Creatrix
At first I thought that this was a man and a woman, but the title “Creatrix” implies two women, perhaps a mother and daughter. This kind of mirror-image must have been very difficult to achieve with watercolor. I like the sculpture-like faces, the smokiness of their hair, and the serpentine dragons.
hnr_creation
Creation
This is just gorgeous. I don’t have much to say, just “wow” at the colors and patterns.
hnr_cycles
Cycles
With the dove, pomegranate, and crystals, I wonder if this depicts a specific goddess; I’m not sure which, though. Of all the things going on in this painting, I like the little swirls in the moons the best.

Other parts in the Helena Nelson-Reed artist profile series
Introduction
Animals
Celestial
Misc

4 thoughts on “Artist profile: Helena Nelson-Reed – Personifications

Leave a Reply

