Artist profile: Helena Nelson-Reed – Miscellaneous

Artist profile: Helena Nelson-Reed – Miscellaneous

Every month, I profile an artist who inspires my own art,
in several segments.

 
These last three paintings by Helena Nelson-Reed don’t fit in any other categories that I’d made up, but they are nonetheless worth looking at!
hnr_winter
Winter Sleep
Look, look, there’s a woman made out of stones and tree roots. How cool is that? I see winter as a period to rest, recuperate, and prepare for the activity of spring; this painting captures that concept really well – the stillness and the potential of winter. Plus, it’s all curvy and has interesting color usage. This painting can be viewed on Ms. Nelson-Reed’s Miscellaneous page.
hnr_ravenmom
Raven Mother
This painting is viewable on her Crone Wisdom page. I like it because it is of an old woman – not the usual subject of artworks (although I don’t see why not) – and the contrast between the light and dark parts of the painting. The violets, blues, and greens in the darker part are soft and circular… kind of like a womb. Maybe I’m reading too much into it – but maybe not, since Helena Nelson-Reed has a background in psychology, and psychologists love that stuff (haha).
hnr_hollow
The Hollow Hills
I’m not sure what the title means, but you can view it here on her Faerie Realm and Magic page. When I look at this, I’m just like “Wow”. All those tiny curly and wavy details.

Thanks for journeying with me through some of Helena Nelson-Reed’s beautiful, awe-inspiring artworks!

Other parts in the Helena Nelson-Reed artist profile series
Introduction
Animals
Celestial
Personifications

Leave a Reply

