Artist Therapy 1: Introductory ideas

Artist Therapy 1: Introductory ideas

Artist Therapy is a series of posts exploring problems we artists have making, getting ready to make, and sharing our art. It is inspired by Havi Brooks’s Blogging Therapy articles.

Being an artist is hard. There are so many ways we artists torture ourselves about being artists: hating what we make, what we don’t make, how long it takes to get around to making anything. Even admitting we’re artists can be hard, let alone actually showing art to other people or trying to sell it!

This series of articles is about some of the road blocks I and artists I know have hit. Now, I’m not going to be kicking you in the pants – god knows there are enough people out there yelling at you to get your mojo on and draw every single day all the time forever.

As best I can, I’m going to apply Havi’s principles of playful exploration and being nice to yourself. I’m also going to try really hard not to tell you what to do, but rather explore the issues and share some ways I deal with them.

Some things to keep in mind:
There are no “shoulds”. “Shoulds” only make you feel bad.
You’re allowed to be scared.
Whatever you feel is okay.
You don’t have to listen to me.
Pick out the bits you like and ignore the rest!

Right now, the posts I have in mind are:
2.) I totally suck at art.
3.) Why even bother? I’ll never be good enough.
4.) I don’t have time for art.
5.) It’s too late for me to start.
6.) What do I even draw?
7.) But I don’t have a style!
8.) Share my art? You’re kidding.
9.) No one’s gonna pay me for this.

Join me July 15 for the second post!

9 thoughts on “Artist Therapy 1: Introductory ideas

Leave a Reply

