Artist Therapy 4: I don’t have time for art.

Artist Therapy 4: I don’t have time for art.

Artist Therapy is a series of posts exploring problems we artists have making, getting ready to make, and sharing our art. It is inspired by Havi Brooks’s Blogging Therapy articles.

Previously on Artist Therapy:
1.) Introductory Ideas
2.) I totally suck at art.
3.) I’ll never be good enough.

Today’s Artist Therapy:
When I was searching for tips on how to develop an art style, every article told me to draw every day. Every one! “Draw draw draw all the time 24/7 or else you suck” is what they said.

Well, those people are what I like to call “wrong”.

You do not have to draw every day. (Or whatever type of art you’re doing.)

All “draw every day” does is to make you feel like a loser when you can’t fit art into your day. Sometimes you’re too busy putting food on the table, because eating is more important than drawing. (It is.) Sometimes you’re really tired, or fed up, or you just don’t feel like it.

That is totally okay. It’s not a good idea to make art into a chore, or to hate doing it because you’re not in the right frame of mind. I say it’s actually bad to make art every day if it’s associated with negative feelings.

If you’re serious about art, though, you do have to make some time for it. I’m not going to tell you how to manage your time, because there are plenty of other people who can do that, and also I’m not too great at it myself. (On a side note, working on a gift for someone else often motives me to make time in my schedule for art when I otherwise wouldn’t.)

But you don’t have to take out whole days to work on your art. Just a 5-minute doodle counts. You can fit that in while you’re waiting for the water to boil for pasta or while something’s downloading on your computer. Or during boring classes in high school. (BAM! High school slam!)

Doodling, as I mentioned in my last post, is something I highly encourage. It takes off a lot of pressure to be perfect, it doesn’t take long, and it helps you get ideas down.

I draw a new thing every week. That’s it. I doodle or sketch out ideas, too, when I have the inspiration. That’s what’s comfortable for me.

What’s comfortable and practical for you? That’s the only question that matters, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

