Artist profile: John William Waterhouse – 1900s

Artist profile: John William Waterhouse – 1900s

Every month, I profile an artist who inspires my own art,
in several segments.

 
The 1900s was John William Waterhouse’s most productive decade. It was really hard choosing a small number of artworks to include in my post today.
jww_crystalball
The Crystal Ball (1902)
I just love the rich color of her dress. One of the owners of this work painted over the skull – sacrilege!! – but restorers brought it back.

Hey, my boobs are over here!
Hey, my boobs are over here!

Echo and Narcissus (1903)
Ladies, don’t be like Echo and waste away your life waiting for a selfish dude to notice you.
jww_missal
The Missal (1902)
I chose this one because the inside architecture and objects are just beautiful. I love the glass circles in the window.
jww_boreas
Boreas (1903)
This painting was lost for 90 years until it showed up in a saleroom. The title is a reference to the North Wind, which is obviously bothering this lady.
jww_rose
The Soul of the Rose/My Sweet Rose (1908)
I think this is a nice moment, and I like the blend of human, natural, and architectural elements. The painting references two short lines from the Tennyson poem “Maud”: “And the soul of the rose went into my blood”.

 

Other parts in the John William Waterhouse artist profile series
1870s
1880s
1890s
1910s

4 thoughts on “Artist profile: John William Waterhouse – 1900s

Leave a Reply

