Artist profile: Julie Dillon – Mythical

Artist profile: Julie Dillon – Mythical

Every month, I profile an artist who inspires my own art,
in several segments.

This is my 400th post!

As you’ve seen this month, Julie Dillon is inspired by many cultures, religions, and historical eras. I chose the term “mythical” not to refer to specific myths, but because these works evoke feelings of awe and what I can only describe as “bigness”. Please click on the images to see them larger.

Diver's Haul
Diver’s Haul
Wat
Wat

I can’t even say much about Wat, except that it’s pretty impressive.

Migration
Migration

Having watched Finding Nemo recently, I think Dillon did a beautiful job with the lights and shadows; I know this scene isn’t supposed to be underwater, but the group (herd?) of eels reminds me of all those scenes in the film with schools of fish.

Oracle
Oracle
Ariadne
Ariadne

This last one is the only myth I recognized. Dillon has other works with floating elements, and they emphasize the confusion and massiveness of the labyrinth (and the Minotaur!). The red thread, which is essential to the myth, adds visual interest and motion. You’ll also notice that Ariadne has a sword on her back – she’s not waiting around for Theseus to take care of the Minotaur, that’s for sure.

Thanks for joining me this August and all the other months I’ve been doing Artist of the Month. Since I’ve finished with my list of planned artists, I’ll be doing just one Artist Profile per month from now on.

Other parts in the Julie Dillon artist profile series
Introduction
Imagined Realms
Sci-fi
Fantasy

4 thoughts on “Artist profile: Julie Dillon – Mythical

Leave a Reply

